Deliver: Data

Here is the GitHub link to the final version of the repository: musically.py

Things that work in our program is the gui. The gui allows the user to understand what the program does, and allows them to interact with our program intuitively. This results in the collection of data that we then use to compute a song that the user is most likely to like.

Things that the program could improve upon is the check for bad user input as we currently don’t check for it since we ran out of time. In addition to that, if the user enters in 0 for any of the values, it breaks our algorithm. If the user enters a number that is greater than 10, our program still runs, which it shouldn’t since the max that they could rate an element of a song is 10.

I think the responsibilities that I accomplished successfully is creating tools to help my team stay oriented towards our end goal. I think I fell short on keeping the project on time since we were unable to deliver our product on Friday, June 14 due to running out of time.

I think that keeping the team on task and on time was the most challenging part of my role since I had team members that either only did work during class time and other who did the majority of the work outside of class. Trying to keep these two very different modes of operations were hard since the code was once left on a team members personal machine at home, and we were left without the most current code.

The things that I would add and fix in the program are:

  1. Including checks for bad inputs
  2. A tie-breaking algorithm
  3. Playing the song to the user

Leave a comment